Childhood Wishes

just-ducky---early-childhood-paintings-by-donald--zolan-87109

When I was a child of maybe six or seven years old I had a great desire to have a kitchen set. I can still feel the heat of that desire which I felt at that tender age. But even then, I never asked my parents to get me one. Because I used to think that kitchen sets are expensive and my father might not be able to get that for me. Now while thinking about that I am really amazed about the level of empathy I had at such an immature age. I remember one day my father actually brought me a kitchen set of pink and off white color. When I carried it in my hands I felt immense pleasure at first, but immediately that happiness turned into a deep concern. The questions which arose in my mind- in the mind of a six year old child- were how did my father gather money to buy me this kitchen set? How difficult it might be for him? Why did I cause him this much difficulty? The memory of what I did next brings tears in my eyes even today. I asked him to return that kitchen set back to the shopkeeper. When he asked me the reason, I could not share with him what I actually thought so I made up one. I told him that I don’t like pink and off white color. In return he gave me a dozen of reasons to like pink and off white color. But I could never tell him back that pink and off white were actually my favorite colors. Anyways he convinced me to keep it, but I never played with that my-so-favorite-colored-kitchen-set ever afterwards.

Childhood conditions become part of one’s personality forever. In my childhood I saw my parents struggling really hard to fulfill the desires and needs of their children. This raised my level of empathy, concern, sensitivity and maybe much more which I do not even know about. It has impacted my personality to such an extent that I cannot see any child wishing for something and not getting it. I deeply connect with those children who are shy and quiet and do not say out their wishes loudly.

Every one of us has got such memories of their childhood and makes connections of our personality traits with those experiences which we had in the early years of life. The important factor is to realize how much impact does these little events and experiences have on the child’s personality, and how does it stick with him or her for whole life.

6 thoughts on “Childhood Wishes

  1. pandacheeseworks

    I can really relate to this. I learned the value of money at a tender age because I could see, with my own eyes, the difficulty my parents are going through. I became very sensitive and empathic to the point that I have become a low maintenance person, even until now despite the fact that we are already financially stable. That’s part of being human, I guess. Permission to reblog, I love this article so much! I would like you to check out my blog at mediocrehuman.wordpress.com
    It means a lot to me.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. pandacheeseworks

        Are we long lost siblings or what? There came a time when I questioned my faith. Although I lost hope in finding enlightenment with religion, I still believe there is one supreme being watching over us. Now, I’m religionless. But, I still believe I’m capable of upholding virtues a religious person has. In its entirety, our beliefs do not define us. It is our morals and ethics.

        Like

      2. Interestingly enough when I was reading your blogs, I was hearing myself saying this is exactly what I think and feel. How similar!
        And yes, all of us are capable of upholding virtues despite being religion-less because morality is independent of religion. For me, although I am a believer, morality is most important of all and I like religions just because they provide morality a site to grow. And in the end what matters is how good we as a human are, regardless of our faiths.

        Like

Leave a Reply

